EASD-Novo Nordisk Foundation Diabetes Prize for Excellence

The EASD–Novo Nordisk Foundation Diabetes Prize for Excellence is awarded to recognize outstanding research or technology contributions to the understanding of diabetes, its disease mechanisms or its complications.

The Prize is accompanied by DKK 6 million – of which DKK 1 million is a personal award and the remaining DKK 5 million is for research purposes.

The Prize is awarded to an internationally recognized researcher who has contributed significantly to diabetes research. The Prize winner’s research may focus on prevention, treatment and/or basic research in physiological biochemistry. The research may also be clinically oriented. In addition, the Prize may be awarded for the “discovery of the decade” within diabetes research.

The following are further selection criteria:

  • The primary criterion in the selection process is a scientific contribution to diabetes research (understanding, prevention, diagnosis or treatment)
  • Only employees of universities, hospitals or other non-profit institutions will be considered
  • Candidates must be highly renowned and actively engaged in research; they may be from any country

The Prize is awarded in collaboration between the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) and the Novo Nordisk Foundation. A special prize award committee appointed by the EASD decides the winner and the Novo Nordisk Foundation donates the money accompanying the Prize.

EASD-Novo Nordisk Foundation Diabetes Prize for Excellence Awardees:

2018 Berlin
G.S. Hotamisligil (US): A quarter century of immunometabolism

2017 Lisbon
P.E. Scherer (US): The many secret lives of adipocytes: implications for diabetes

2016 Munich
A. Hattersley (UK): Defining heterogeneity in diabetes to improve clinical care

2015 Stockholm
S. O'Rahilly (UK): Human metabolic disease: lessons from genetics

The 2019 EASD–Novo Nordisk Foundation Diabetes Prize for Excellence is being awarded to Professor Daniel J. Drucker.

Read more