You are here

Albert Renold Prize 2024

The Albert Renold Prize recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of pathophysiology and treatment of diabetes mellitus.

To be eligible for nomination:

  • Candidates must be an EASD member
  • Candidates can be from any country
  • There are no age restrictions

Nominations should be made on the available nomination form, and sent as one complete PDF to, containing:

  • One Letter of Recommendation of not more than 1,000 words signed by up to three nominators. Additional letters will be disregarded.
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee including a list (without reprints) of ten publications considered to reflect the nominee's most important contributions in the field.

The awardee will receive a monetary prize generously sponsored by Lilly and will deliver a Lecture during the EASD Annual Meeting in the year of the award describing the awardee’s most important scientific achievements.

Download Nomination Form


Learn more about the last Albert Renold Prize awardee in 2023:

Yuval Dor, Israel

Lecture: Disrupted RNA editing as a path to type 1 diabetes

Watch Award Lecture

Albert Renold Awardees:

2023 Hamburg
Y. Dor (IL): Disrupted RNA editing as a path to type 1 diabetes

2022 Stockholm
M. Sander (US): Deconstructing development to reconstruct beta cells from stem cells

2021 Virtual Meeting
P.L. Herrera (CH): Diabetes remission through insulin secretion by islet non-beta cells

2020 Virtual Meeting
G.A. Rutter (UK): Metabolic and functional specialisation of the pancreatic beta cell

2019 Barcelona
T. Otonkoski (FI): Too much or too little insulin: solving the puzzle with stem cells

2018 Berlin
R.N. Kulkarni (US): Epitranscriptomics (RNA methylation): a new level of regulation in islet biology and metabolism

2017 Lisbon
J. Ferrer (UK): DNA switches, beta cells and diabetes

2016 Munich
M.S. German (US): Balancing beta cell mass: generation, degeneration and regeneration

2015 Stockholm
A. Hattersley (UK): Insights into the beta cell from patients with monogenic diabetes

2014 Vienna
S. Kahn (US): The beta cell in type 2 diabetes: lessons starting at the bedside

2013 Barcelona
P. Rorsman (UK): The pancreatic islet: more than the sum of its parts?

2012 Berlin
D. Eizirik (BE): Beta cell apoptosis in diabetes: a complex road to disaster

2011 Lisbon
M. Prentki (CA): Tricycling along the beta cell and its coupling mechanisms for fuel induced insulin secretion

2010 Stockholm
S. Seino (JP): The cell signalling in insulin secretion: a story of molecular targets of ATP, cAMP and sulfonylurea

2009 Vienna
B. Thorens (CH): Pancreatic islets as a key node in an integrated network of gluco-regulatory organs

2008 Rome
J.-C. Henquin (BE): The regulation of insulin secretion: a matter of phase control and amplitude modulation

2007 Amsterdam
F. Ashcroft (UK): Diabetes and the ATP-sensitive K channel: from molecule to malady